I Have a Weakness for Books

I have a really bad habit I’m trying to break: I always finish a book I start…even if I think it’s miserable.

14e0a82f6b776d5bc0439f617de3f494.jpg

My husband thinks I’m crazy. My answer was always that I was waiting for the book to get better…or for the twist at the end…or for something. Occasionally I was rewarded. Most of the time I was not.

Since I’m trying to live more intentionally this year, I’ve decided to stop finishing books I don’t like. I feel pretty dastardly about it too. There is just something…cruel about not finishing a book. I don’t know if I think this because I’m an writer and I want people to read all my words, or if I’m just crazy.  But honestly, life is too short for books that don’t speak to you.

In the same vein, I’m also a bit of a book hoarder. I buy books with covers I like at clearance sales. I take in stray books when friends are cleaning out their houses. And I may have been known to buy a used copy of one of my favorite books  even if I already have a copy at home. I just like books.

As you can imagine, I have books all over the house. My bookshelves have long been filled and now the books are creeping into piles in every room. A lot of these books I don’t LOVE. It was bad when it was just me…but now that I have a junior bibliophile in the house, it’s officially out of control.  And so I’m going to start purging, and creating a library of books I truly adore. So that when people walk in my house and look over my shelves, they’ll only see books that really matter to me.

78ca7ca49af83833f6d768f51295646e

(Frankly, this is something I could do in every room in the house. But baby steps, right?)

Do you finish books you don’t love? Is there an area in your life that would benefit from a purge?

5 thoughts on “I Have a Weakness for Books

  1. Susan says:

    I do not finish books I don’t like – so having a sample on Kindle is a good help. I have books in every room of my house! This year I am going to read the books I haven’t read (that are on my shelves) and then, maybe donate some.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I get a lot of my books from the library. I couldn’t afford to buy all the books I read but I often read a book then love it so much, I go back and buy my own copy just so I can make notes and stuff.
    I’m a total book hoarder too

    Like

Leave a Reply

