2015 Books in Review

  
At my best count, I read around 85 books this year. I did a bad job of keeping track of them, which is something I want to work on in  2016. The number jumps to well over 100 if you count the re-reads of the year, but I think 80 or so new books in one year is pretty good. Here is my year in review:

Best Book: The Lake House by Kate Morton. I waited a long time and this book was truly worth the wait.

Worst Book: Paper Towns by John Green. This book built…and built…and built…then fell flat on it’s face.

Best New Writer: JR Ingrisano, who published Captain Jolly’s Do Over. 

Best Mystery/Thriller: Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll. Creepy and incredibly engaging.

Best Chick Lit: Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella. Her books are always an easy, fluffy read when you need a mental break.

Best Twist Ending: Off the Page by Samantha Van Leer and Jodi Picoult. This was a fun YA sequel that answers the question, “what happens to the characters when the book is closed?”

Biggest Book Disappointment: In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume. You know how you feel on a cold January day? Like you’ll never be happy or warm again? This is how that book made me feel.

Book I’m Most Excited For in 2016: The Guest Room by Chris Bohjalian. It is one of my life goals to finagle an early copy of his next book.

I hope you read some really great books this year, and I hope that your 2016 is full of amazing words. Thanks for making my words some of the ones you read this year!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “2015 Books in Review

  1. That is a lot of books!! I want to read The Lake House, and I have heard of Shopaholic to the Stars. I’m into the books from Dean Koontz or Iris Johansen. And I didn’t know Judy Blume was still writing (or was it an old book)? I read her in high school!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have a lot of the same taste in books! “The Lake House” was amazing, which I can always count on from Kate Morton. I got to meet her last month in Houston on her book tour and tell her that her writing inspired my own book. I really had to hold it together!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! Now I think I’ll have to read Luckiest Girl Alive (I’ve learned I like creepy books hah) and if you say The Lake House is good, maybe I’ll give it a try. I just got The Rosie Project for Christmas, have you read it yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Lake House was amazing, although it was a bit of s slow start. The Rosie Project was good…the only complaint I had about it was that it got a little tedious to read, as its told in stream of conscious point of view.

      Like

Leave a Reply

