If You Read One Book This Month: The Lake House by Kate Morton

I wanted “The Lake House” by Kate Morton to be my feature book review for October, but I didn’t manage to finish it until yesterday, so I’m sliding it in at the very beginning of the month. 

 

Beautiful cover and I was obsessed with the floral printing on the inside cover


I’ve been waiting for this book for a long time. I’m a huge fan of Kate Morton, and this book didn’t disappoint.

Morton’s books should be read slowly and digested. She is a master at creating layers in her novels, and in The Lake House she introduces you multiple generations, each with their own secrets. There’s Eleanor, who lives an entirely different life than even those close to her know; Alice, a writer with deadly knowledge she’s kept for decades; and Sadie, an anti-social detective who has been forced to leave the police force by a messy secret. And in the background of all of their stories stands Loeanneth, a country house that is not easily found but contains a special sort of magic.

The Lake House mixes romance, history, and a decades-old cold case and it kept me up reading way past my bedtime.

What was the best book you read in October? 

8 thoughts on “If You Read One Book This Month: The Lake House by Kate Morton

  1. I’ve never read The Lake House, but I agree it is a beautiful cover. My favorite book that I’m (still!) reading is Unbroken. Yeah, I know it’s old and there’s a movie, but I’m late to the game. Wow, is it an incredible read! I need to devote more time to reading so I can finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds awesome!

    I am reading The Wedding Bees by Sarah KateLynch – a novel about hiney. love and manners. It is a total chick-lit but what I need at the end of a day 🙂 I read right before bed so it takes me a while to finish a book. I will probably it this month and then on to the next…..The Art of Moxing by Erica Bauermeister.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

