My Favorite Spooky Reads

jackolantern

I usually avoid all things scary–I’m not into horror movies, scary stories or blood, guts and gore. But this time of year even I like a little spook, and I usually look for it in the written word. I find that my imagination is far better at scaring me than anything on the TV screen!

This October I’m reading two spooky books from my Fall To-Be-Read list: A Sudden Light and The Returned.

Here are a few more of my favorite reads that gave me the shivers. You won’t find too many traditional horror stories on this list–while I find writers like Stephen King to be fantastic, his books scare me so much I had to give them up.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ranson Riggs: Where do the freaks of nature hide? This book would have been a fairly creepy story on its own, but what made it even creepier were the old, black and white photographs in the books. Part fantasy and part reality, this book made me eager for the sequel and now the third in the trilogy.

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian: This ghost story was scary on a realistic level (the main character was a pilot who was one of the few survivors of a plane crash) and a fantastical level (pilot was then haunted by the ghosts of said plane crash). What got under my skin about this story was that the truly scary part built and built until the end, which completely threw me for a loop. If you’re looking for an unsettling ending, read this book.

The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe: Do I really need to explain this one? Just the thought of the heart beat makes me break out in a cold sweat.

Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin: My high school boyfriend made me watch this movie and…I didn’t really get it. So I read the book, and it scared the pants off me. My mind went places the movie didn’t dare go.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold: I realize this is not supposed to be a horror story, but it terrified and disturbed me. The violence and the sadness that seeped through the pages…I found that I had to put the book in the freezer in the style of Joey Tribbiani from “Friends” with Little Women.

What is your favorite scary story?

Leave a Reply

