Planning a Literary Garden

I am so excited about the yard in our new house. We have so much space and I’m both delighted and overwhelmed by it. I’m not much of a gardener, and I know I can’t do it all at once, so I’m starting to plan and research, and of course my mind goes to books.

I want to create a literary green space. Keep in mind I’m in the day dreaming phase, but here are some ideas I’ve had.

BitOfEarth

  • Lilies and petunias for a Harry Potter garden, along with some herbs and interesting looking “herbology” class plants.
  • I’m really inspired by The Hundred Acre Wood–a sand play area for Roo’s Sandy Pit, Rabbit’s vegetable garden, a little log tucked away for a thoughtful spot. And hunny pot planters, of course.
  • A flowering tree that has big white blossoms like the “White Way of Delight” in Anne of Green Gables.
  • A spot with bright, colored flowers and curious looking plants that would be perfect for an Alice in Wonderland inspired tea party. Perhaps some interesting looking mushrooms, too!
  • A little scarecrow post with Peter Rabbit’s blue jacket hanging on it.
  • I’d love to find a way to tuck a tiny rose garden back in the woods that border our lawn to make our very own secret garden.
  • A lamp post, so we can find our way home from Narnia.

And of course, I need one of these signs.

GardenSign

What am I missing? What books would be represented in your literary garden?

4 thoughts on “Planning a Literary Garden

  1. That’s a great idea. Shakespeare is one of my favourite writers when it comes to mentioning flowers – wild thyme, oxlips, woodbine. He seems to understand the nature of flowers and his way of expressing himself is so memorable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

