Midsummer Mini Book Review

e552cc65ec59f0c1c45b22d2e2ae8822

Time for another mini book review! Here is what I’ve been reading:

Shopaholic Takes LA (Sophie Kinsella): A cute addition to the series with an annoying cliffhanger at the end. The book could have been half as long, and it had just gotten really interesting when it ended. I have sort of a love/hate relationship with the main character in this series–I find her annoying but endearing all at the same time. I like that when I’ve had enough of her, I can just shut the book.

Vanishing Acts (Jodi Picoult): What do you do when you find out your father kidnapped you as an infant and changed your identity? As usual, the topic is off the wall, but Picoult writes with a realism and a seriousness that makes it completely plausible. Set in the desert of Arizona, the novel also toys around with the concept of repressed memories, which I thought was really interesting.

In the Unlikely Event (Judy Blume): I was so excited to read this book, and she didn’t disappoint. Blume has never sugarcoated anything in her writing or tied up things the way my fairy-tale romance mind loves, but that’s one of the things that makes her writing so poignant. This novel really paints a great picture of life in New Jersey in the 1950s, complete with complicated relationships. I loved the way Blume tied everyone in town together on some level. If you’re about to travel by plane, I would wait on this read–there are pretty gruesome descriptions of plane wrecks.

The Lies we Told (Diane Chamberlain): I’ve been on a bit of a Diane Chamberlain bender this summer, but I think this one might be the last one for a while. She puts her characters in these insane situations but rarely manages to make them realistic. This is a story about two close sisters whose parents were murdered when they were children. When one of them goes missing, the other hooks up with her husband–while the missing one is stranded on a southern barrier island with a questionable man and a pregnant woman. Chamberlain always has a good twist at the end, but it loses some of its shock value because the stories are always so off the wall.

Paper Towns (John Greene): John Greene is the epicenter of teen angst right now. I read The Fault in our Stars and thought it was okay, and figured I would read this one before I saw the movie. Well…I won’t be seeing the movie. This book dragged on and then had such a lame ending that I don’t even think my self-centered angsty teen self would have enjoyed it. Book fail.

Flat Out Celeste (Jessica Park): This was the third book of the “Flat Out” novels. It was a cute little romance about a socially awkward girl getting ready to go to college. All three of these books are light, easy reading if you’re looking for a beachy read. The dysfunctional family the story revolves around will grow on you!

What have you been reading this summer? I just started the “Selection Series” by Kiera Cass and I’m pretty hooked. 

2 thoughts on “Midsummer Mini Book Review

Leave a Reply

