How Do You Write?

I’ve been thinking a lot about my writing process.

In the past, I’ve written in long stretches late at night. My characters take over my thoughts–they talk to me in the shower and get really crabby if I leave them alone too long. I get into a zone where I’m walking around in this world, but my mind is in my writing.

ImaginaryFriends

And now I’m a mother, and there is very little opportunity to be in the zone. For awhile it stopped me from writing. Then I started writing what would turn out to be The Goldens, and the whole thing was written in fits and starts. It was ten minutes here, writing standing up when I had time, adding notes about it on my iPhone when I thought of them. Somehow, it turned into a book, and miraculously, a publisher wanted it.

A close friend told me that my success was due to the fact that I simply don’t have time to over think everything as I did when I was in “the zone”. Motherhood has converted me to the wham, bam, thank you ma’am method of writing.

InmyHead

There are some days, however, that my brain really wants to be in the zone. I wake up with a conversation I’ve had with a fictional character still on the tip of my tongue. The songs on the  radio remind me of people I have penned. And on those days it is almost euphoric when the evening has come and I can put JC to bed and sink into writing, even though I know morning and parenting will come quickly. That’s what coffee was invented for, right?

Greenhousewriting

I’m curious to know–how do you write? Do you have to have a nice clean desk, sharpened pencils and a clean house, or can you plunk down and write whenever the mood strikes you? Do your stories stay with you once you stop writing?

Nothinking

2 thoughts on “How Do You Write?

  1. I’m the type of writer who outlines my work before I pen a single word. I keep lists and calendars on cloud-based services so that I can keep myself on track. However, I don’t have a dedicated writing space–I write at home, at work, at school, whenever the mood strikes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

