Anywhere in the World?

If you could live anywhere, where would you go?

Mama Kat’s writing prompt this week was right up my alley: You have to move away from your state in one month. List 6 destinations you wouldn’t mind relocating to. I just finished reading Paris in Love, a memoir about a woman and her husband who moved to Paris for a year with their two young children. It made me daydream about where I would go if I had the funds, inclination and freedom. Then I realized most of the places I want to live for a year were…a little hard to get to.

London:  I’m a little obsessed with jolly old England right now. I think it might have something to do with Princess Kate and Burberry, but why fight it? I have visions of wandering cobblestone streets wearing an adorable trench coat while JC trots along beside me looking suspiciously like Christopher Robin. I realize this is not what it would be like, but it’s a daydream list, right?

London_110

I’m pretty sure I think London would be just like stepping into the movie “Notting Hill”.

Stars Hollow: While we’re on the subject of daydreams, I’d love to live in the fictional town alongside the Gilmore girls. Do small towns like that really exist? Where you can wander from your house to the town square, encountering all sorts of characters along the way? I want to live there.

(Side note: I found this fun webpage that lists Stars Hollow-esque places in New England to visit. Just in case.)

Storybrooke: Oooo, or the small town from Once Upon a Time. Sure, there are curses every couple of weeks and the constant concern that Rumplestiltskin is going to go completely Dark One on the community. But Prince Charming is the law enforcement and Jiminy Cricket is the town shrink. It’s a legit trade off.

storybrooke

Cambridge, Massachusetts: Okay, lets come back to reality.  I’ve always had a thing for Harvard square. Boston is a fantastic city and I would love to live there…and wander around Cambridge with a delicious bagel and my nose stuck in a book.

Hogwarts: Okay, so while I was imagining myself amongst the academics, the hallowed halls of Harvard sort of morphed into moving staircases and great halls with starry skies and a nice view from Gryffindor Tower. Clearly, I’m not into reality today. I should just give in. If you need me, I’ll be packing for the Hogwarts Express.

HogwartsLetter

See? I already have my letter.

If you could go ANYWHERE for a year, where would you go?

8 thoughts on “Anywhere in the World?

  1. Oh yes! England is enchanting. I love it there. And, I wouldn’t mind the other places you listed. To be lost in an imaginary place right now sounds very good to me.

    Like

  2. Haha I love how you used imaginary destinations! Maybe I’ll do another list like that. I’d love to move to England if I could be the new royal baby’s nanny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

