February Book Bites

I didn’t get as much reading done this month as last month. I spent a lot more time writing, but I did manage to get three books in. Here are February’s mini reviews.

febbookbites

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: I confessed earlier this month that I hadn’t read this book. I finally sat down and read it and…boy, was it a downer. I thought the child narrator was brilliant in the sense that she told the story as it applied to her–meaning the fact that her white lawyer father was defending a black man accused of raping a white girl was of equal importance to what she got to eat for dinner.  The story could have been so preachy, but it wasn’t because it was told through the voice of a kid. I’m glad I read it and I’m putting the movie on my “to watch” list.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion: This book was cute. I had really high hopes for it because it got stellar reviews, but I found it tedious to read at times. The narrator is brilliant man who is autistic (although he never labels himself as such) and while his internal dialogue was clever and poignant in the beginning as it laid out exactly the way his mind worked, by the end of the book I found myself skipping sections of his thought processes. Aside from this, the book made some very intelligent observations on people, social expectations and society as a whole while still managing to make me laugh. I plan on reading the sequel.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins: I started reading this book on a Friday morning and I finished it…very late Friday night. I stayed up far past my bedtime to find out what happened and my book hangover the next day was worth it. Told by three unreliable female narrators–a drunk, a depressed woman with an anxiety disorder, and an adulteress–this is the kind of book that sort of makes you feel like you’re going crazy along with the characters. It’s very Gone Girl-esque, so if you like that kind of psychological thriller with a little criminal action thrown in, this book is for you.

What did you read this month?

One thought on “February Book Bites

  1. Enjoyed your post 🙂 I’ve also been doing a lot more writing than reading- it’s a struggle! Love connecting with fellow readers/writers, hope you check out my debut novel, THE WAITING ROOM.

    Like

Leave a Reply

