January Books: Mini Reviews

I read six books in January. Here are my mini reviews (and as always, no spoilers!):

JanbookReviews2

My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni: This crime drama about sisters started out slowly…and the middle was slow…and then the end was fast-paced and exciting. There were a lot of family dynamics and a handful of gruesome crime scenes, which didn’t really make it great pre-bed reading. I give it three stars.

Private Relations by Diane Chamberlain: I’ve been on a bit of a book binge with Diane Chamberlain, and I loved everything I read…until this book. Oh you guys, this book was so bad. The characters weren’t believable at all, their relationships weren’t realistic in the slightest and the main character wasn’t very likable. Since I always finish books I start, I read the whole thing…but it never got better. I really need to rethink that policy. One star.

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty: This is another author I’ve been bingeing on, and this was one of her best ones. In this tale about triplets, Moriarty did a great job of layering their life stories for the reader as their current dramas unfolded. She managed to blend some pretty serious issues with some hilarious scenes, making me think and laugh all at the same time. Four stars.

The Time Between by Karen White: White’s books often take place in southern and coastal towns, and the way she writes mimics the slow way southern summers seem to go by. The story builds and builds until the last few chapters when there is no way you’re putting the book down. This story winds around two sisters, their loyalty to each other and –despite that loyalty–the secrets that they keep from each other. The only problem I had with this book is that I felt like White didn’t give enough to some characters–particularly a perceptive child who had psychic abilities. I really wanted to know more about this kid, but the author did not provide and that was frustrating. Three stars.

The Last Summer (of You and Me) by Ann Brashares: Oh, this writer. I loved the “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” series, but I think what I liked about it was that I had a chance to get to know the characters through so many books. I’ve read most of her other stand alone books, and they drive me a little crazy. The characters in this book…well, they’re weird and they make bad decisions. The story circles around three people–two sisters and a boy they’ve known their whole life. The book gives us romance, sisterly bonds, heartbreak…but it doesn’t give us time to really get to know the characters and figure out why they’re making such ridiculous decisions. There is a nice, wrapped up happy ending though–and I approve of that. Two stars.

The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty: I told you I was bingeing on this author! This book was so absurd but that made it fun. The main character was really funny, but the twists, turns and events in the story weren’t relatable at all because it was so far out there. Good escapist fiction with a mystery element, but not much more than that. Three stars.

What was the best book you read this month?

One thought on “January Books: Mini Reviews

  1. I read a lot of books this January, as well. My favorite was “Big Little Lies”, also by Liane Moriarty. It is the first of hers that I’ve read, and I was captivated. I have several others on hold at the library now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

