Writing Bootcamp, week 1: Breaking up With Writers Block

I’ve decided to put myself through Writers Boot Camp this winter. If you’re looking for some inspiration you can follow along at Writer’s Digest.
Week one: It’s time for you and Writer’s Block to part ways. Write a letter breaking up with Writer’s Block, starting out with, “Dear Writer’s Block, it’s not you, it’s me…”

Dear Writer’s Block:
It’s not you. It’s me.

I’m done feeling mentally constipated all the time. I’m done distracting myself by checking Facebook 3,785 times a day for no good reason. I’m done using the laundry and the dishes and all other housework as an excuse. These few minutes that my son is occupied by Mickey Mouse Clubhouse will not be spent “liking” inane status updates! No, they will be used for putting pen to paper to create SOMETHING…even if it is just a few lines describing the way my character likes chili dogs or how she feels about libraries.

Because all those characters in all those partially written stories are living in my head all the time, waiting in limbo to see where they go next. Waiting for me to write their lives and solve their problems…or, in the case of some, create a few new ones for them. And some of them aren’t waiting so patiently, you know. Some of them are tapping on my brain with their little literary mallets, making me dream about them and have imaginary conversations with them while I’m in the shower.

So you see, I have to break up with you for my own mental health. Because eventually my husband is going to hear me talking to myself in the shower and then I’ll have real problems.

Sincerely, Allyson

Leave a Reply

